From Start to Finish

Hello All,

Remember this post, I made a yoke with the Silk thread. The yarn was costliest in my stash and I had little bit more after completing the yoke. I decided to make some laces and attach to my kurta.
So I did the lace following this pattern.

http://sheruknitting.com/videos-about-knitting/crochet-lace/item/568-crochet-lace-stitch-pattern-tutorial-5-part-2-of-2.html

After making the lace, I wanted to make piping to match the lace color.
I was sure that my base fabric will be some dark color but I wanted piping. So I got silk fabric in purple color.( I love the touch and feel of the fabric but it was nightmare making piping out of it.
I went in search of matching fabric and got black brocade kind of material for the kurta.
That is when I shared this teaser pic.

2015-03-30 19.23.58

Later I followed this video tutorial and made a princess seam kurta. There were countless faults and confusion, but I sailed away. This is by no means perfect, but I can be proud that it does fit me 🙂


2015-06-21 15.55.46

Once the kurta was done, again I went in search of a contrasting color fabric for the bottom pants. My idea was to make a semi patiala salwar. And again I followed the video from FashionforYou and made this set.

2015-06-21 15.59.02

2015-06-21 16.02.18

The set is not very comfortable and my sewing is least perfect. But I smile a lot when I wear, being happy with the color combinations, my crochet lace and above all the dress is how I imagined. After all, it feels good. ( not physically but yes emotionally).

4 thoughts on “From Start to Finish

Leave a Reply

