Sling Bags -Some More :-)

Hello All,

Dussera over and now Diwali comes 🙂
And Here are some more sling bags, which I embroidered before and stitched recently
I have fallen in love with all my sling bags so I’m finding it emotional to part with them. I made these for gifting, but the effort and the thrill I got in making them, I dont feel like gifting it to others.
But obviously I cannot use them all, so there they go to my relatives and friends.
Now my wish is reduced to the hope they love and appreciate the sling bags.

Now coming back to the embroidery details.

2014-10-02 11.06.31

I already blogged the gopur design here and from Preethi’s blog.

The Kutch design is usual one, but this one I did with Cretan stitch base similar to how Preethi has done her Gopur Design base.
2014-10-02 11.07.28

The Cathedral window design is from my Kantha embroidery kurta but embroidered in Herringbone stitch.

The other Sikku Kolam design is stitched using Italian knot stitch which I learnt from Anitha’s blog here

2014-10-04 06.35.13

This is again a simple mirror embroidery with some embellishments.

2014-10-04 06.34.18

This is a Sikku Kolam design stitched with Chain stitch. I ran out of the handle fabric and so used a left over material (from a skirt).
After making, I loved the contrast.

some more pics
2014-10-02 10.59.35

2014-10-02 10.59.44

2014-10-02 11.03.33

Cheers,
Sangheetha.

4 thoughts on “Sling Bags -Some More :-)

  1. Hi Sangeetha, all your sling bags unique in itself, i liked the kollam design worked with green color. Yes i do agree, after all hard work , i too don’t feel like gifting such pretty bags !!! 🙂 . But its a gift, gift ###

  2. Each bag is so lovely, therefore I’m not surprised you would like to keep them. The use of chain stitch produces an elegant pattern on the design.

  3. Your kolam embroidery is just beautiful. I am too looking for doing these on throw pillows but not yet started. I love these traditional ones and believe should also b there in our homes other than showing them in front of our house. Nice to know you and hope we both keep visiting each other’s blog often.

Leave a Reply

